Up North

Well, only a little way up north! I’ve been travelling around schools in Newcastle and the Central Coast but I started out with Terra Sancta in NW Sydney. Lovely school – and I now own a Terra Sancta golfing umbrella. How’s that for different? Here’s Ludi, the teacher-librarian, introducing me at the start of a presentation –
DSC02494
Then on to Morisset, where I stayed at a brilliant, hidden-away little B & B called Montifmor. Next day, Avondale College –
DSC02506
Made the mistake of staying the night at the Hotel Jesmond – as bad as Montifmor was good. I was being nostalgic, because Hotel Jesmond was my local pub and the Jesmond Centre was my local shopping centre when I used to live in Victory Pde. Hah! the shopping centre had changed to a Stockland, and the pub had been re-coated in a sort of grey plaster. Worse – the disco music downstairs kept me awake until midnight, and I had to sit on the stairs to make the wifi connection work!
I was at San Clemente College the next day, in Mayfield, enjoyed it a lot but forgot to take photos.
Those were all schools I’d never visited before, but on the last day, in Gosford, I went to two schools I’d visited two years ago – Henry Kendall High, then Kariong Mountains High (doesn’t that sound poetic?). It was very gratifying to be so well remembered, and to discover that so many people had since read and loved Worldshaker and Liberator. Great feeling, to know you’ve had an impact – and made some steampunk converts too! None more so that Laura Morrigan, who came in to the Henry Kendall presentations dressed in steampunk costume –
DSC02518
Check out that parasol!

Leave a Reply

