Wow! The A. Bertram Chandler Award 2012!

I couldn’t believe it on Sunday night, when I got a text from Jack Dann saying he’d just presented me with the A. Bertram Chandler Award for 2012 at the Melbourne Natcon – only I wasn’t there. I felt bad not to have accepted in person, though I’m sure Jonathan Strahan did a great job accepting on my behalf – but what an occasion to miss. It’s the first Melbourne Con or Natcon I’ve missed in ages. 

Of course, I had no idea I might win anything, let alone the A. Bertram Chandler Award, which is an overall award for making a major contribution to Australian SF and spec fiction. I look over the list of previous recipients and think, wow, do I really belong in that company? It’s a huge honour, and I feel kind of humbled.

The actual prizes arrived today – a massive decorative plate, a lovely little engraved glass plinth, and a framed citation certificate. I took a photo –

Image

Hmm, not sure if that shows up very well. I did my best!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

