The Salon de Montreuil

Whew! it’s big, this book fair – even though only for children’s and YA. Seems to me there’s about 100 publishers’ stalls. We wined and nibbled at the opening night last night, and managed to talk French with the help of many hand gestures, plus Italian in Aileen’s case. Here’s me with publisher Sophie (on right), editor Gilberte (on left), and Elsa who looks after overseas rights.


Today I had a presentation with a class of school kids who’d all read Worldshaker – I managed to answer their questions in French – at least they said they understood! Then they enacted some tableaux from the novel – here’s the scene where Riff goes to eat the jelly, Col tries to stop her, and Sephaltina is about to faint –


It was a real treat for me!
Later I went to the Louvre. Yesterday I wandered around the Marais and bought some shoes and books. Did I mention I found the perfect steampunk goggles at the fleamarket at St Ouen. They’re actually Austrian army goggles, probably for use on snow, v old like WW I. I’ll take a piccy, but right now here’s a steampunk Metro station – it’s on one of the lines at the Arts et Métiers stop –

Leave a Reply

