Win some, lose some

Last talk yesterday at the Borders Festival (the Borders area in the south of Scotland, not the bookshop chain). I’ve enjoyed the UK tour so much, and I’m sure I’ve generated a lot of interest in Worldshaker. But this last talk wasn’t a  highlight – the kids attending were around 9 years old, a bit on the young side for a YA novel like Worldshaker! No matter – can’t expect everything to work out perfectly. And the festival as a whole was great – white marquees set up in an old garden with the sun shining. It was cucumber sandwiches on the lawn weather, a lovely holiday feel.

Earlier, Aileen and I went around Melrose Abbey, a grand ruined Cistercian abbey church and cloisters. I realised this was my first bit of true sightseeing on the whole trip so far.

Today I re-organised my suitcase so that all the stuff I use for presentations – clothes, displays etc – went to the bottom. Now it’s holiday clothes at the top!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

